top of page
  • sumeyyealtun20

Flipped Teaching Material

Güncelleme tarihi: 28 Oca

Hello everyone! I hope you are doing well! Today, I will be sharing my experiences on the flipped teaching material. Before I tell you about my task, let's learn about flipped classrooms. The flipped classroom is an educational model that flips traditional lectures and homework. In other words, the lectures are pre-recorded by the teacher for students to watch before the class, allowing teachers to utilize in-class time for interactive and collaborative practice. One of the benefits of flipped teaching is that it promotes students' active engagement in the content at their own pace before the classroom, and then allows students to participate in discussions and hands-on activities during the class. Although its benefits mostly outweigh the disadvantages, we can't ignore the drawbacks of this approach. As flipped teaching heavily relies on technology, it may pose challenges for students who lack access to technology or reliable internet connections. Also, some students may struggle with self-learning and may not watch the teaching videos and prepare for in-class activities. This may lead to a lack of understanding of the subject and engagement in activities.


Our task was to create a teaching material for a flipped EFL classroom. I worked with my friend Merve Nur Balcıoğlu on this assignment. Our target audience was high school prep classroom students and we were asked to choose a grammar or a vocabulary point from the assigned book. We chose the grammar topics "there is" and "there are". Merve and I worked collaboratively in each step of the task, while I designed the content of the video and pop-up quizzes, she designed the visuals on PowerPoint and dealt with adding and editing the audio. Firstly, I wrote the script and the content and Merve designed the presentation on PowerPoint. We recorded our parts separately and Merve combined the audio and presentation with Clideo which is an online video editor tool where you can combine photos, videos, and music. Then she edited the final version of the video using iMovie, an online video editing tool, as it was easier for her to make the necessary changes. After the editing was over, I used Edpuzzle to insert pop-up quizzes throughout the video for students to practice what they had learned. Edpuzzle is an online tool where you can create interactive video lessons and create classrooms. I created an open class so that you don't have to enter a class code. 


The most difficult part of this process was finding the right online design tool to insert pop-up quizzes. It was too time-consuming and all the tools that were suitable for our purpose were too expensive. After all that search, we found Edpuzzle thanks to our instructor. It was the most suitable tool for us as it has a simple interface and is easy to insert questions. 


Despite all the drawbacks, as a teacher candidate, I would definitely use the flipped teaching approach in my classes to make the most of my in-class time. Interacting with my students, and helping them in the process of their self-learning instead of lecturing for hours sounds like a better idea for effective teaching. I wish all the teachers around the world could implement this approach into their teaching. 


Well, I hope you enjoyed reading about my journey in creating a flipped teaching material. Below, you can find the material that we designed. You can also click here if you are unable to view the embedded material. 




8 görüntüleme

Son Yazılar

Hepsini Gör

Comentarios


bottom of page